Hello from Sweden

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

axel1

Reaction score
Hi!
I have been browsing this forum for a while but finally took the time to make an account.

I have some kitchen experience working for/with friends at restaurants during the summer. But now I’m strictly a homecook. Have learnt the basics of sharpening from my father, but now I’m here to really learn the intricacies of sharpening and J-knives.

I am left handed which I noticed makes buying J-knives harder. Maybe I should stick to the western makers? Or are there any lefty friendly Japanese makers, that at least makes truly 50/50 bevels?

Last edited:
It doesn’t help your wallet that there’s quite a few popular knife makers relatively close to you.

It doesn’t help your wallet that there’s quite a few popular knife makers relatively close to you.
That I have noticed. Especially Fredrik Spåre and Smedja Aspen. Can’t really justify spending what Isasmedjan is asking at this point. Is there any others I should know about?

Welcome aboard, Axel.
Both Misono and Masahiro make versions for left-handers with a truly inverted geometry, left side convexed, right one flat, edge off-centered to the right.
cleancut.se should be able to tell you about the Masahiro; so JCK about the Misono. japanesechefsknife.com
Ask for JCK Mr Iwahara. Highly competent and helpful.
koki at kencrest.us

Welcome aboard, Axel.
Both Misono and Masahiro make versions for left-handers with a truly inverted geometry, left side convexed, right one flat, edge off-centered to the right.
cleancut.se should be able to tell you about the Masahiro; so JCK about the Misono. japanesechefsknife.com
koki at kencrest.us
Thank you. I really the design of these knives with western handles. But it might be worth it to get to try out a knife made for lefties. Appreciate the help and guidance.

Welcome aboard, Axel.