Help me find a knife!

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jj7642

Reaction score
Just thought I'd make a thread to see if anyone has good recommendations for a knife. I've been cooking for over 10 years, at least twice a day, but have always used cheap knives.

I've seen the following recommended at various places, all seems decent. Any input/recommendations are welcome. Oh, and thanks to all in advance.

Victorinox Chef's Knife
Tojiro DP Gyutou
Mac Knife (Chef, french)

'Murica

KNIFE TYPE
What type of knife are you interested in (e.g., chef’s knife, slicer, boning knife, utility knife, bread knife, paring knife, cleaver)?
A universal/workhorse knife knife. I seem to prefer the feel of a santaku, but if a Chef's knife is superior, I'd consider that.

Are you right or left handed?
Right

Are you interested in a Western handle (e.g., classic Wusthof handle) or Japanese handle?
No Idea

What length of knife (blade) are you interested in (in inches or millimeters)?
No Idea. I use an 8 incher right now, and it seems to fit me well

Do you require a stainless knife? (Yes or no)
No

What is your absolute maximum budget for your knife?
150$, but hey, the cheaper the better ya know?

KNIFE USE
Do you primarily intend to use this knife at home or a professional environment?
Home

What are the main tasks you primarily intend to use the knife for (e.g., slicing vegetables, chopping vegetables, mincing vegetables, slicing meats, cutting down poultry, breaking poultry bones, filleting fish, trimming meats, etc.)? (Please identify as many tasks as you would like.)
Primarily chopping meats and veggies, especially onions
Chopping potatoes

What knife, if any, are you replacing?
A $13 (pack of 2) Santoku knife from Sams' Club that has chips along its entire blade