Looking to replace 2 knives.

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TheGreek

Reaction score

United States

KNIFE TYPE
What type of knife are you interested in (e.g., chefs knife, slicer, boning knife, utility knife, bread knife, paring knife, cleaver)?

I have 2 specific knives i'm looking for. Even though I now work in healthcare, I grew up in a restaurant cooking with my father. My father had his knives that were off limits to anyone but him. As my father's health declined, he stopped cooking. He passed away in March of this year. As i was going through his possessions, I came across a few of his knives. I was dismayed to find out that his knives were put in the dishwasher and completely mistreated. They are chipped and dull as butter knives. My dad always used a santoku style knife for prep and a large straight slicer. Indeed, my go to prep knife is a J.A. Henckels 7 inch Santoku and I use a Victorinox Straight 14" Granton slicing knife when I smoke meats. These are the 2 knives I'm interested in replacing. I like the idea of a custom knife. The only person to really see the santoku knife will be me, but I entertain and cook for friends and family at least twice a month. I would like the meat slicer to be an eye catcher since everyone is usually hanging out in the kitchen when I use it.

Are you right or left handed?

Right handed

Are you interested in a Western handle (e.g., classic Wusthof handle) or Japanese handle?

I have mostly used western handles, but I'm completely open to a Japanese handle.

What length of knife (blade) are you interested in (in inches or millimeters)?

For the Santoku, probably 7 to 8 inches. I don't think I need anything larger than that at home. For the slicer, I would like to be at least 12 inches. Here's a post I just did for the whats cooking thread. This is the 14 inch knife I'm considering replacing.