Moving into my own place and want to get a good all around chef's knife.

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

iusedtocook

Reaction score
So a number of years ago I was a sous chef at a nice for the area restaurant and since then I've loved cooking. I graduated college and am getting my first place, so that means I'm in the market for pretty much all my kitchen stuff, but particularly knives. What I'm looking for help with is a good chef's knife that I can use for most of my cutting. I'm looking to spend $200 or less.

Minnesota, USA

KNIFE TYPE
What type of knife are you interested in (e.g., chef’s knife, slicer, boning knife, utility knife, bread knife, paring knife, cleaver)?
Chef's

Are you right or left handed?
Right

Are you interested in a Western handle (e.g., classic Wusthof handle) or Japanese handle?
Probably Japanese, but its more the blade I'm concerned with.

What length of knife (blade) are you interested in (in inches or millimeters)?
8 inches

Do you require a stainless knife? (Yes or no)
Open to all options

What is your absolute maximum budget for your knife?
250 USD but would prefer under 200

KNIFE USE
Do you primarily intend to use this knife at home or a professional environment?
Home

What are the main tasks you primarily intend to use the knife for (e.g., slicing vegetables, chopping vegetables, mincing vegetables, slicing meats, cutting down poultry, breaking poultry bones, filleting fish, trimming meats, etc.)? (Please identify as many tasks as you would like.)
Slicing and chopping vegetables, slicing and trimming meats and poultry

What knife, if any, are you replacing?
None

Do you have a particular grip that you primarily use? (Please click on this LINK for the common types of grips.)
Pinch and some Hammer