New Guy Checking In

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Yet-Another-Dave

Reaction score
Hi, after lurking here, off & on, since (almost?) the beginning I guess it's time to register.

I'm a novice to quality knives and no more than an aspiring home cook. After a long period of "training" myself with a selection of the "better" cheap knives and still not reaching a point where I felt I deserved a quality one, I splurged anyway and treated myself with Jon at JKI's new Gesshin Stainless Wa-Gyuto. Jon's legendary here and it probably feels redundant repeating how good his stuff is, but... Wow! The fit and finish of this knife is so far beyond anything I've seen at a similar price, I'm honestly not sure why the stock answer to newcomers wanting a generic Japanese style knife isn't to get this one and come back when, or if, they have enough experience to prefer some different specific characteristic(s). Yes, I understand there are nuances, but when you don't know if you want thinner, heavier, more belly, less, etc. this seems like a great value that will be a great knife to use and to give a reference point to refine future selections. Certainly I'm loving it and expect I'll need to seriously refine my skills before I find any short comings.

If my account is approved, (despite my fan-boy enthusiasm, :) ) I'll mostly continue to lurk, but try to chip in when I have some relevant experience. Thanks for having me!

Welcome aboard Dave #6,897,967 or whatever it is.

Glad to have you here and don't worry we will have you buying Shigs and HHH damascus in no time :D

Do we REALLY need another Dave?
Of course we do! :D
Welcome Dave!

Enablers, everyone of you an enabler! :)

Thanks for the welcomes.

Yes, now you see :D.