Stone identification

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Simon082

Reaction score
Got this big chunk of earth but no clue what it is. Never seen a hindustan look like this nor have I seen Canada oilstones like it.

Strange stone, feels like sandstone but has a novaculite quality to it, cuts fast on oil but useless with water. Tell you what it's a beautifully patterned stone that my crappy tablet can't do it justice.

Attachments

• 20220519_125439.jpg
    20220519_125439.jpg
    77.3 KB · Views: 0
  • 20220519_125617.jpg
    20220519_125617.jpg
    137.7 KB · Views: 0
Surface pattern, colour &c. very similar to a DB I won recently on ebay. (Don't have it yet cos I'm in Aus rather than the UK atm).

s-l1600 (29).jpg

The layers are pretty unusual looking, but lots says Dalmore to me generally.

(Though I've only had a couple of them before, so I'm no great expert!)

The layers are pretty unusual looking, but lots says Dalmore to me generally.

(Though I've only had a couple of them before, so I'm no great expert!)
The colour is totally wrong for a dalmore, and dalmores stratification when they do have them tends be everywhere. This is confusing.

By the way did you know back during ww2 they apparently used dalmore stone powder to paint warships when grey/blue was hard to get, I remember reading this.

Is it strata or foliation? The way the patterns are on the surface compared to the sides make it look foliated to me... I'm still saying a weird bit of Scottish rock!

I might have read that somewhere yep... is it in the Gordon Tucker Ayrshire Hones booklet thing, maybe?

Is it strata or foliation? The way the patterns are on the surface compared to the sides make it look foliated to me... I'm still saying a weird bit of Scottish rock!

I might have read that somewhere yep... is it in the Gordon Tucker Ayrshire Hones booklet thing, maybe?