Stone set to kick things off

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi all

I have a question on what sharpening set upgrade to.

I am a complete novice in free hand sharpening however I can get a great result with my Edge Pro with Shapton glass stones

My current knives are:
• 3 x R2 knives
• 2 x carbon clad (white steel I think) knives
• 1 x YXR7 knife
• 1 x SKD knife
With more yet to buy probably in the PM/stainless/semi stainless side of things

So I want to kick my free hand sharpening off by purchasing a set.

Here is my shortlist

K&S
1. Naniwa 1K, 3K, 8K
2. Naniwa Chosera 800, 2K, 5K
3. Naniwa Chosera 1K, 3K, 5K
4. Naniwa Chosera 400, 1K, 3K

JNS
1. JNS MATUKUSUYAMA SHARPENING SET (HARD)
2. JNS MATUKUSUYAMA SHARPENING SET (MEDIUM

I am in Australia so shipping can be a major drag on the overall cost, looking at spending up to AUD $500 (US$ 400)
I already have an Atoma 140 plate and I will probably pick up a strop at a later stage as well

I am leaning toward Naniwa Chosera 800, 2K, 5K set so I can use the 2k and 5k for retouching the edge and the 800 for when I want to thin/fix anything

Am I on the right track? Or should get something else?

Only thing I would probably consider is maybe something in the 300-400 grit range since you mention thinning and repairing.I have a Chosera 800 and feel it would be kind of slow for something like thinning.It's more closely related to a 1000 grit stone.

I think Chosera 400, 1k and 3k set would be better for your current line up. JNS medium would work great, but I think they work even better on carbon kasumi finish. They trend to leave a hazy finish.

And Chosera 800 is too slow for thining, it is more like a 1k grit range.