Wakui Grinds

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dan

Reaction score
Before I say anything further, please correct any errors in my terminology. I'm still new to the knife game and happy to learn as much as I can from you gurus.

I go through phases of looking at different knives, and Wakui has caught my eye lately. It seems like Wakui gets good rep in various knife communities. Most (all?) of the knives are stainless-clad shirogami 2. However, it seems like there are a few different grinds... more about that below. Which grind(s) do people like? Or is it less about the grind and more about the quality of the grind? Or heat treat? Or profile?

One is seen at Knives and Stones:
Wakuki_Hammered_finish_gyuto_210mm_g__06729.1541111843.1280.1280.jpg

This is a picture of the 210mm hammered W2 gyuto at Knives & Stones. If my novice eyes are accurate, it shows a distinct 'S-grind'. I chose the 210 for the picture because I thought the grind was more obvious than in the 240mm picture.

Say you visit TOGO to peek through their Wakuis. Pretty different looking choil.. Looks either convex or wide-bevel-like, right?
https://images.yswcdn.com/-6709878151531560371-ql-85/451/454/aah/**************/wakui-custom-white-2-gyuto-210mm-26.png

Well what if I visit CleanCut and look at their Wakui. This one seems more wide-bevel than the others:
WA_gy210_2.jpg

But what about the Wakui at Bernal or Epic Edge - the Migaki version. Is it an S-grind? hard to tell, looks like it could be anything. Picture from Bernal:
wakui-240mm-gyuto-shirogami-2-ho-octogan.jpg

Cleancut has a different picture for a Migaki Wakui choil:
wakui_choil38.jpg