DHL Import Duties

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Anyone have any experience with DHL attempting to collect an import duty payment? I had a handle repair done by Robert in Australia and on it being shipped back, I get a waybill for $104 yesterday and it increased to $194 tonight. I tried calling DHL but the office was closed.

This amount seems excessive. Any pointers to handle this?

Thanks

Duties are derived from declared value. Declared value and insured value are often (if not always) the same. If this is the case, and Rob insured the package at full value, you would be on the hook for importing an expensive knife, not just a handle. I have no experience with repairs/rehandles and value as it relates to imports. Maybe someone else has better insight.

if you can prove its not a new item and just personal goods being returned (i.e. with outgoing receipt, original purchase info, etc), you should be able to avoid customs. But if its new, includes something new, etc., customs and duties are the law of the land.

I once returned a knife to an EU maker for a little work, included the original receipt in the paperwork and wrote “return to manufacturer” on the customs form. Even with all that we still got hit with an import tax. Sucks being at the mercy of uncaring government employees with no practical recourse.

I had a knife shipped from Germany to USA, value about $1,000. DHL. Import duties were about $90. They also held it up because it said "laser" on the box and they thought it was an actual laser. I replied about it immediately, but they took their sweet time getting back to me about it. That time added $90 of "storage fees" to the bill. Had to fight them for weeks to get that $90 back, but they gave in eventually.