Filleting knife recommendations

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Looking for recomendations for a new filleting knife to replace a ***"*** artifex that I'm not totally happy with. I'm not keen to go the deba/yanagi route at the moment because there isn't anyone to teach me to use one at work.

I'm a righty working cook in Australia and I'd be using it a couple of times a week for a variety of fish including flathead and large snapper.

I sharpen my own knives on waterstones (mostly kings).

Things I dislike about the artifex are that it's a fraction too flexible for my taste. I also find that because the blade is so narrow it can be a nuisance to sharpen, and then it seems to lose it's edge pretty quickly. This makes me think that I might prefer a flexy sujihiki

Doesn't have to be stainless but I would prefer a western handle. Length about 210 mm. Price limit is $300. What do you guys think?

are you set on 210mm because that is not really a common length for sujihiki in my experience. it also seems undersized to me to process whole fish. you say too flexible boning knife so you want a flexy sujihiki... ??? I thought sujihiki and fillet is meant to be ground thin and flexible. I believe yanagi is stiff and thick.