First knife purchase

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

k0wned

Reaction score
Full questionnaire is below, but here is the summary. I'm a novice home cook looking for my first knife. I am looking for a 210mm or 240mm gyuto. Do not plan on getting a second gyuto or upgrading at a later time, I'd like this knife to be my baby for the long haul.

I'm not looking to take on sharpening, will be paying for professional sharpening (CKTG?). Hope to get a knife with great edge retention, hopefully hold its edge for around a year of light use between sharpenings if possible.

SG-2 (R2) seems to be a recommended steel that seems to fit my needs, without much compromise on cutting performance (I'm open to anything though). The Takamura R2 seems to be the most highly mentioned of this steel type, but is it too thin for an inexperienced cook? I'll be careful, but I don't want a knife would be easy for me to damage while I'm still learning technique.

Thanks everyone, looking forward to hearing your thoughts.

- USA

KNIFE TYPE
What type of knife are you interested in (e.g., chef’s knife, slicer, boning knife, utility knife, bread knife, paring knife, cleaver)?
- Chef

Are you right or left handed?
- Right

Are you interested in a Western handle (e.g., classic Wusthof handle) or Japanese handle?
- Either

What length of knife (blade) are you interested in (in inches or millimeters)?
- 210mm or 240mm? Getting a 16x22 or 18x24 cutting board if that helps

Do you require a stainless knife? (Yes or no)
- Not necessarily. However edge retention is very important, so thinking something like SG-2 (R2).

What is your absolute maximum budget for your knife?
- Absolute max is $350. ~$200 is what I'm thinking as of now, but I can be convinced to go cheaper or more expensive.

KNIFE USE
Do you primarily intend to use this knife at home or a professional environment?