Hamaguri technique help!

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Garner Harrison

Reaction score
Hello guys, just me again asking for some help. On a previous thread I was enlightened on the ways of the Hamaguri sharpening technique and watched Jon's video from JKI and began my journey.

So this is my first attempt at it with my completely stainless knife, which I later regret...

20200113_145925[1].jpg

This is what I was going for, since I didnt think I could do a stronger Hamaguri grind as I already had spent nearly 10 hours flattening the bevels before attempting this and thats why there is a extra bevel towards the blade edge. The tiny bevel on the edge is just a super light microbevel, a few swipes on my 6k stone and newspaper. Damned stainless steel!

Now, after I attempted that grind profile I chopped up various hard veg to see if I succeeded and now I ask you, judging off those pictures did my attempt work? Cause I can see the food releasing before hitting the shinogi line which I think means it worked. :D

Attachments

• 20200113_141903[1].jpg
    20200113_141903[1].jpg
    80.1 KB · Views: 207
  • 20200113_142311[1].jpg
    20200113_142311[1].jpg
    88.6 KB · Views: 208
  • 20200113_142844[1].jpg
    20200113_142844[1].jpg
    100.6 KB · Views: 201
Last edited:
Looks like it to me. I test on soaked, cold potatoes. I can definitely tell if I screwed up on the left side. The potato will just suction on to the blade face. The right side if the potato doesn't stay put.

How does it feel now compared to before?

I tried chopping through some cold wet potatoes like you said you do, and when I sliced it up around 3-5mm thick it didn't stick at all to the blade. Attempting to slice thinner and it sticks but comes off the blade easily when pushed off.