Help me choose a knife (birthday gift)

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

milkbaby

Well-Known Doofus
Reaction score
Hi all, I'm a newbie lurker and have really enjoyed all the knowledge passed on in this forum. Just started getting into Japanese style knives and was totally blown away by their performance. I'm starting to fall down the rabbit hole of wanting to collect more knives because to me they are a combination of artistry, craftsmanship, and utility. I'm a cyclist, and there's something about an incredible handmade bicycle that makes you want to ride more and pushes you to be better. While a newbie might not squeeze every bit of potential out of their tool, I've found that I've usually grown into it as my skills increase.

So, I'd like to get something really nice to celebrate my birthday and getting over the last few years of hardships. I've been looking on Murray Carter's website as well as at Teruyasu Fujiwara, and a bunch of Western custom makers. It's a little daunting because many of the custom makers offerings sell right away and getting a custom made is a long wait if even possible.

What country are you in? USA

KNIFE TYPE
What type of knife are you interested in (e.g., chef’s knife, slicer, boning knife, utility knife, bread knife, paring knife, cleaver)?

Probably a gyuto, 220 to 240 mm. Not 100% set, but I like the idea of having something that has a lot of uses instead of a more specialized knife.

Are you right or left handed?
Right

Are you interested in a Western handle (e.g., classic Wusthof handle) or Japanese handle?

Leaning toward Japanese handle, but mostly am interested in something eye catching that I will enjoy seeing and using everyday.

What length of knife (blade) are you interested in (in inches or millimeters)?

220 to 240ish mm

Do you require a stainless knife? (Yes or no)
No