Honyaki? I don't get it ...

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

naifu

Reaction score
I am fairly new to JKKs so please forgive my ignorance. My question is, why are honyaki knives popular, and why would one pay $800-$1500 for a honyaki knife over say a $300-$400 knife? I get that honyaki is a more expensive process and they look nice, but is there any real value or advantage of a honyaki over some other type of steel combination/process?

The analogy that comes to my mind is someone who purchases an expensive Swiss made watch over a cheap digital watch. That is, some people like to spend the money on fancy things, crafted in a traditional manner, even if there is no practical reason to do so. Is this why people want honyaki knives?

No honyaki owner, but they strike me more as people that get a HP 5071A in addition to their digital watch :)

yes to all,generally because they are more difficult to forge then some, its a good craftsman makinga high quality blade and from my experience they generally keep it going and have skilled craftsman work on the grinding/polishing/sharpening, some people like the feel of monosteel blades, some like the aesthetics of the hamon and the idea of traditional arts being continued in a kitchen knife. for me personally its a combination of everything, i have a lot of honyaki knives, also if you are a good shopper you can find honyaki blades made by incredible makers for less than 800, i promise you that :)

Is there any of those in stock somewhere? For less than 800

You can get to around 800 with direct orders I think - I have not seen a honyaki gyuto for that price in a shop - maybe some special discounts or such.

I keep banging my head against the wall for not getting on of the Maxims Singatirin honyaki knives when he carried them. I think the sale price at the end was around 350. Oh well.