JNat Stones

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CulinaryCellist

Reaction score
I feel like falling down the rabbit hole and purchasing one.. Wondering the specific qualities you look for when going to purchase a JNat?

-Josh

There's a lot to know here. I will first preface with the fact that I am a newbie (relative) to this particular rabbit hole and many others may come along who know more. I have a ton of naturals (too many, definitely need to downsize) and for me, this is what it has come to:

1. Edge - Eh. I have some nats that put a lovely edge on a knife, but I don't know that it's any better than a well-made synthetic from Chosera, JKI or other top manufacturers.

2. Polishing - Let the nuance begin. Should you be interested in making kasumi finishes on your knife, I would suggest starting with something softer, as it will help you get acquainted and manage the mud to explore different finishes.

I've got several I could be willing to sell, but don't want to take over the thread so I will leave you with this last piece that directly answers your question:

First thing I look for is who the seller is. If you want retail, I think Jon at JKI is, of course, solid and Maksim at JNS. Those are the only two places I have ever purchased natural stones retail. The rest are from reputable people I know in our little sub-culture.

Good luck!

Hi there, Josh.

It depends on the goal you are hopping to achieve. First of all, are you planning to use it for sharpening or polishing? Do you intend to sharpen double bevel or single bevel blades? Which kind of blades? Are you sharpening for fun or time is key in your sharpening? Finally, how much money are you prepared to spend on this stone?