New on sharpening need some advices in how spend my money now.

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cesar

Reaction score
Hello guys.
Im new to the japanese knives world, just request help to buy mi first japanese knife ( a gyuto) on blade forums. So far i have sharpend just cheap knives on a decent stone 360/1000 grind (never use the 360 so far) a few times just to "taste the feel" on that kind of shrpening, now i plan to began a more serius learning with mi new knife and some more material i want to buy and i request your help if possible to lead me in what i need to choose for this first steps.

Im planing to buy rigth whit the knife a flatening stone, a 5000 or 1000 grain stone of good quality and a leather strop, alltough i read this one is no necesary and can be replaced for more cheap metods.

Im looking to star a good quality ( but no a pro) sharpening equipment, so any advice you guys can say to me is wellcome. The naniwa brand seems the one to go for me at the moment but im open to all the help you can give to me.

My actual stone is wmf brand. Im not sure what to do, keep this one and go for the 5000 or descart this one and go for nice 1000 to start. ( cant afford 2 stones now, will buy the other as soon as i can).

Also, what flatering stone you recomend to start?. Can i avoid the strop for now and use a newspaper?, really?

Any cheap stone holder you recomend? Think is a must or can i let it for more forward?

Thx in advance for the help in this questions, if you have recomendations for me they are more than wellcome.

If dont understand something cause you think im posting in a diferent language than english dont doubt to ask xDDD.