New to stones

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I'm a chef of over 30 years looking to learn how to sharpen my knives myself. I've always sent them to a "pro" in the past, but am not usually pleased with the results. I'm pretty sure they all used a machine. I'm disabled now, so I have time to learn.

I have about a dozen Forschner blades. From 12" chef to 3" paring. I have some older blades that I'm not sure of the manufacturer. As well as sharpening various pocket knives and kitchen knives for family.

I looked on Amazon for a set of whetstones, but am not satisfied with the reviews. In my quest to learn which stones are worth buying and what I should start with, I figured my best bet is to join a forum where I can chat with seasoned pros.

I'll add that I'm a PA native and went to Culinary school in Pittsburgh (PICA) back in 1991. I've been in the Charleston, SC area for the last 25 years.

Very much looking forward to chatting with some pros and hopefully making some new friends.

Welcome.

Couple of quickies and I'll get out of the way. Forschner are frequently recommended as a starter knife to those looking to learn. Good values.

But.

The steel is not hard enough to enjoy the retention that you will find with Japanese and Japanese "style" knives. Even if you get em sharp they will not stay that way beyond minimal use. There's a "Which Knife" questionnaire on here that will help you find a "good" knife to help that part of the journey.

I've bought many of the Shapton Pro and Glass stones from Amazon. Good stones for a beginner as well as seasoned old farts. Pro 1000 and 2000 are my most recommended stones. Glass 500 is a foundation stone for me - can't imagine being without one.

I heart Charleston. 2 years in the Navy there and back when I can.

Thanks for the advice, much appreciated!