Some anxious newbie

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi everyone !

Being a complete newbie, as I just recently acquired a set of Zwilling Henckel pro, I am now wondering how to maintain them and which whetstone to purchase as my very first one.

I tried to get as much as info in this forum and I think I am settled for the King 1000/6000 as recommended by many members to be the best bang for my buck for a starter. I was initially thinking of the Wüsthof 4451 1000/3000 which I thought would be more appropriate for a start but now wonder as no one seems to recommend any of these.

However, I’m kind of an anxious dude, so I am wondering if I should also purchase some really cheap 4$ Chinese stones (e.g. that Amazon Silverline CB14 which is silicium carbon on 20x5x3cm double which just says "coarse and medium grit") to practice one my cheap fake Sentoku that I got on discount from my local supermarket (and that I want to get rid of anyway). I know this should sound crazy to you pros and enthusiasts, but it’s just that I don’t want to damage a quality stone or my new Zwilling (maybe not the best knife for many on this forum, but still the best I have ever owned) with my supposingly poor beginner’s technique.

Should I man up and just go straight to the King and practice on my Zwilling? Or is this careful approach justified?

Any other suggestion, guidance or opinion on the King 1000/6000 is of course welcome !

Many thanks in advance !

The Wüsthof looks like it's an OEM product made by Zische. Either way it's not their 'own' product. No experience with their stones though (I think few people here have ever even heard about them). But as with all OEM products you do pay extra for just the brand name...