US v Japan, and what is it with the gyotos?

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Adrian

Reaction score
As a relative newcomer to this forum, I have some questions for the knife aficionados and collectors out there. As a Brit, until this year I was totally unaware of American artisan kitchen knives. My J knife experience was limited to commercial stuff (Kasumi and Shun) followed in recent years by a growing interest in various Japanese single bevels bought on my visits to Japan, plus a few imported to the UK.

This site clearly has a lot of people who focus a lot on American knives. So Q1: what do you guys see as the differences between Japanese smithing/forging and US smithing? As an amateur I have made few knives in Japan, in traditional small workshops, but have not got a clue how the US guys differ in methodology.

The other thing that really strikes me about this forum is that many currently active members are highly focused on Gyutos. Many of you guys have lots of them in different sizes from a bunch of makers. My own modest knife collection (excluding the German stuff and commercial factory J knives) consists of a range of different blade styles and I use different knives for different jobs. So Q2: what is it with the Gyutos? Why are they so universally popular here?

The only knife I have that I would regard as Gyuto is a Misono UX10. What am I missing?

Adrian

Last edited:
So Q2: what is it with the Gyutos? Why are they so universally popular here?

The only knife I have that I would regard as Gyuto is a Misono UX10. What am I missing?

Adrian

A gyuto IS a chef's knife. They are the most utilized knife in the kitchen...usually.

I think because the "Gyuto" is very commonly produced, many makers are trying to make their's the best possible and out of curiosity many members are more than willing to try these out!