What are the best books on Charcuterie/Sausage making?

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DitmasPork

Reaction score
Attention restaurant chefs and experienced charcuterie makers, and avid meat people:

I'm an home cook, and want to get into making sausages and charcuterie. Over the years I've bought the five books below on the subject. What are some of the other books out there that are essential for the craft, to do it safely at home?

What's on my shelf so far:
Charcuterie: The Craft of Salting, Smoking, and Curing by Michael Ruhlman
Charcuterie and French Pork Cookery by Jane Grigson
American Charcuterie by Victoria Wise
*Garde Manger: The Art and Craft of the Cold Kitchen by CIA
Sausage Making: The Definitive Guide with Recipes by Ryan Farr

[Note: the Garde Manger book is not entirely focused on charcuterie, but has a large section on the subject.]

Look for Rytek Kutas books. They are available on Amazon. Recipes are great and plentiful. The books are continually updated to ensure they comply with current food safety standards so look for the most current revision.

These are my 2 favorites.
Ug2PMjR.jpg

The butcher/chef at the organic meat farm I work at uses this book a lot- Charcuteria: The Soul of Spain. The guys who collaborate to produce it came and taught a charcuterie class at the farm not too long ago and were super knowledgeable. Everything they brought to try/make was really delicious, for whatever that is worth...

Look for Rytek Kutas books. They are available on Amazon. Recipes are great and plentiful. The books are continually updated to ensure they comply with current food safety standards so look for the most current revision.