Black and White - Arkansas Stones

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

HumbleHomeCook

Embrace your knifesculinity!
Staff member
Global Moderators
KKF Lifetime Supporter
Reaction score
Like my 8k thread, I'm acknowledging up front that there is a lot of subjectivity here, and I also know it has been debated many times over the years, but I'm curious to get your ponderings.

The Black Ark vs. the Translucent Ark. Let's say you have two Blacks but no Translucents. Would you get a Translucent? If so why? Just to have and mess with one?

Is it possible to set aside specific individual stones in the discussion or are the differences so thin that slight variations either way can render it all a moot point?

I am NOT an ark expert. But I do know, by hearsay, the conventional wisdom, which goes like this:

Blacks vary more than translucents. Translucents are practically guaranteed hard, razor-finisher type stones. But a Dan's Black Ark is pretty much equivalent to his Translucent.

The only part of this I can personally vouch for is that my Dan's Black Ark, with no modifications whatsoever, makes a remarkably good razor finisher.

As I only have one black Arkansas, take this with a grain of salt. The surgical ark as it was called when I bought it was said to be the hardest stone available. I spoke with an employee at Dan’s and they had mentioned the translucent can be very fine but also more susceptible to inclusions or toxicity. Being as it was my first stone(idiocy on my part), it has become my go to finisher for razors and knives, without much effort I can easily make an edge Into a blood whisperer. Not a stone for a beginner.
Also as an FYI, I use water not oil, tried oil, ho hum. But it’s a bit slow.