Can this be fixed? Badly chipped Yu Kurosaki.

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Scubadoo

Reaction score
So I went to get my Yu Kurosaki 165mm AS Bunka out of the knife draw, and somehow it has developed two nasty chips and two little ones and the heel is knicked. Wife and kids say they have no idea what happened šŸ¤„. To be fair the edge is thin as! so I'm suprised it didn't happen sooner!

Question is, can it be fixed at a cost that makes it worthwhile? The knife cost 200ā‚¬ just over two years ago.

IMG_0713.jpg

The tip of my Yoshikane petty also got lost a while ago but i managed to grind a gentle curve to the top to meet the cutting edge (used a CBN wheel). Changed the profile a bit but it works fine. Any advice appreciated. I'm a woodworker so pretty handy, and used to sharpening tools but have never ground or thinned a knife.
Cheers
Dave

Reprofile (to remove the chips) then regrind (to get a thin edge again). By hand on stones that will be a few hours ...

Thanks. Having not done it before, is it likely that I could ruin the knife? It has quite a concave grind. Would you do it on full sized stones or use smaller ones? I have a 6" grinder with a CBN wheel but don't fancy doing that without a jig.

Thanks. Having not done it before, is it likely that I could ruin the knife? It has quite a concave grind. Would you do it on full sized stones or use smaller ones? I have a 6" grinder with a CBN wheel but don't fancy doing that without a jig.

Before I get too smart about it - do look at the links provided, and also google for the blog of Greg (wabocho) as he has detailed articles to several different knfie restorations.