First post and a sharpening question

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CowryX

Reaction score
Greetings,

What an awesome forum! I have been reading and learning from so many people around these parts.

I was lucky enough to buy a bunch of whetstones from a person who abandoned honing straight razors. I have been learning to sharpen knives for about 6 months. I have been enjoying the learning and experience, thoroughly!

I have Chosera 400, 1k, 3k, 5k, and Shapton 8k. I don’t use a strop. I strop on each stone before moving on to the next. The edges on my knives are super sharp. I love them. But I noticed that a tiny bulge (convexing) happens close to the cutting edge. I searched on the forum and saw a comment about micconvexing and Chosera stones. Is this something I’m doing or is it the nature of these stones?

Greetings,

What an awesome forum! I have been reading and learning from so many people around these parts.

I was lucky enough to buy a bunch of whetstones from a person who abandoned honing straight razors. I have been learning to sharpen knives for about 6 months. I have been enjoying the learning and experience, thoroughly!

I have Chosera 400, 1k, 3k, 5k, and Shapton 8k. I don’t use a strop. I strop on each stone before moving on to the next. The edges on my knives are super sharp. I love them. But I noticed that a tiny bulge (convexing) happens close to the cutting edge. I searched on the forum and saw a comment about micconvexing and Chosera stones. Is this something I’m doing or is it the nature of these stones?