hello from the UK

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gingertimmins

Reaction score
Hello! I've been lurking for a while to gain knowledge on sharpening.
I'm a professional chef of 20+ years and have had many, many knives but just bought a selection of Japanese knives which I'm hoping will see me through to the end of my career. And for that I need to keep them sharp!

I only have cheap stones from amazon or whatever but am seeking to upgrade as I've become quite taken by it as a hobby!
I'm also on the hunt for a 210 Gyuto but to be honest I don't see this obsession going anywhere any time soon.

Does anyone know good online retailers for Japanese knives and the like? I'm aware of the sharp chef, knives from Japan, Japanese knife company and one or two others but they all (apart from sharp chef) seem to stock an awful lot of global and similar brands which I'm not really after.

Anyway, great forum, I'm very happy to be here!

Welcome to the forums.

You will need to not only sharpen your knives, but maintain their geometry through thinning. Especially if you will be using in a pro environment presumably with sharpening on a very frequent basis.

There are many online retailers who stock quality knives.

Some of them are sponsoring vendors on our forum. Check out our sponsor directory for a list of forum sponsoring vendors.

Rather than try to list all of the good online vendors, I'll suggest you start a "Which knife should I buy?" thread in the Kitchen Knife Forum. It’s best if you answer the questionnaire. It's a sticky thread at the top of the same forum. Copy and paste the questionnaire into your thread and answer the questions (best done in bold or a different colour to make it easier to skim read).

Welcome to the forum @gingertimmins