Hiromoto AS thickness question

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

WarrenB

Reaction score
Just reading that some of the Hiro AS knives are coming out a bit thinner, I just got a Santoku and wanted to know if this is considered thick/thin? First Japanese knife so it looks thin to me:)
hiro1_01.JPG

I am not a professional when it comes to these knives but it does not look to thick to me?

A more straight on choil shot would help alot try and get it so dead straight that you cant see the sides thats the best way for us to see the true thinness

A more straight on choil shot would help alot try and get it so dead straight that you cant see the sides thats the best way for us to see the true thinness
Bit better
hiro.JPG

Ok thanks for the replies, maybe the AS range is coming out a little thinner these days? Is the Santoku naturally a little thinner than the Gyuto that most people discuss?

How it looks isn't the whole story. How does it cut?
Hi, I don't have much to compare it to, but it cuts better than anything I have had before, effortless thorough veggies, just falls through. I was mainly asking as I was reading a lot about the having the AS thinned and maybe was expecting it to be bit thicker above the edge.

no wedging what so ever?
Not on anything I have cut so far, not tried large potatoes yet . Tomatoes, cucumber, onions, carrots, courgettes, aubergine, small potatoes all cut with no problem and little effort

awesome! I need to get me one for work prep how is the handle on that thing?

awesome! I need to get me one for work prep how is the handle on that thing?