Max budget $100 - stainless

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ruso

Reaction score
I want to buy a decent knife to my in-laws, since sharpening theirs is a PITA and they are nice people. I am looking something in stainless in range of 180-210 gyuto or santoku.

The usual suspects are:
Fujiwara FKM
Tojiro DP
Tanaka VG10 or Ginsanko

However, I have no first hand experience with any of them. Which one would you recommend? Any other option missing?

I've not tried one of these, but believe it would be what I would purchase at the price listed.

Thanks chinacats, I thought about it but with USD to CAD conversion + $35US shipping to Canada + border taxes i will be more than $200CA out. Little bit more than I wanted to. (Shipping + taxes is what killing it.)

Also I found Massahiro MV Honyaki 14811 on BlueWay. Seems to fit my criteria. Any opinions?

Also I found Massahiro MV Honyaki 14811 on BlueWay. Seems to fit my criteria. Any opinions?

I bought one of these for a friend as a 'first real knife'. OOTB edge was excellent. FF and grind were good. Handle is molded plastic, and a little lighter than I was expecting. Overall recommended.

President of Masahiro once visited our city and made a short presentation of their knives along with sharpening session. Considering their price point they were really well made. Double bevel knives were highly asymmetric with great OOTB edge.

Fujiwara FKM from Koki is also a great choice.

Tanaka knives are potentially better knives than both Fujiwara and Masahiro, but you'll need to rehandle them, ease choil and spine and thin if you are buying ginsanko. So if you are interested in making all those adjustments, then Tanaka is a good choice.

Have no experience with Tojiro.