Overwhelmed Newbie Needing Help with First Gyuto, Stones, and End Grain Block

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SurlyBastage

Reaction score
Newbie here trying to wrap my head around everything... and failing.

Oh no I've read too much
I haven't read enough.

I plan to get a good board, get some sharpening stones , and then after getting comfortable sharpening and taking a knife skills class, get a gyuto.

I hope to be content with just one gyuto (I hear you snickering) so would like something nicer than entry level.

For everything, I want to find a good value/quality point. I know that means different things to different people and I don't yet know what it means to me regarding knives, boards, and stones but the following might help.

For cars, my value point is a 2-3 year old Toyota Camry. There are other cars that accelerate faster, have more room, are less expensive, get better gas mileage etc. but the Camry does many things well for a relatively reasonable price and is one of the more reliable cars out there (no, I don't sell cars or work for Toyota) .

I live in Zambia but will be moving to the US (Charlotte, NC) soon.

KNIFE
240mm wa-Gyuto
Left handed

METAL
Most likely stainless but have not ruled out semi-stainless or stainless clad carbon.

I doubt carbon is for me but am open to be convinced otherwise.

I would like something that is not so brittle that it shouldn't be in the hands of a newbie.

BUDGET
I have not yet set a budget. I would rather you let me know where the "Camry" price point is and see if I need to drop down a little or even what a few more sheckles will get me.

KNIFE USE
Home cooking - cutting fruit, slicing/mincing/chopping vegetables and trimming /cutting meat.

I currently have stainless Chicago Cutlery 8" Chef knife.

Pinch grip

I push cut primarily but will be taking a knife skills class.

AESTHETICS