Possible job change would like advice

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jgraeff

Reaction score
Hey guys! Im from south Fl and i have been working at the same place for 6 going on 7 years. The place I'm at now has been there for over 35 years and the menu hasn't changed a bit. Old fashioned but good food just older style.

Im a sous chef there and make about 34k a year, my hours are from 5am until about 2pm 5 days a week. I work every holiday, although I do get weekends off because i get my daughter those days. Typically i average about 45 hours a week and I'm paid hourly. There is not much creatively at my job other than soups and sauces. Right now i do the prep, baking and pastries, but previously i worked the line for 4 years.

The new job is at another place around downtown area, its Peruvian cuisine and its a place i like to go. The food is a bit more modern and i would have the opportunity to make all the specials of any choice i would like. I will be taking over the ordering, inventory, food cost, labor cost, menu design, and training eventually.

The hours would be 5 days a week from noon until about 10 pm. I will get every other saturday and sunday off and i will be making salary of about 35k.

The new job has benefits as well as some downfalls. My fiancé works mornings so i would only see her on the weekends, however by working later in the day i have the opportunity to take me daughter to school more often. Its about the same pay maybe a little less hour wise, but i get to be creative and learn a new cuisine.

i would like some advice on this because I just bought a house, I'm getting married and I'm in a custody battle and I can't afford to make the wrong decision, however i still want to advance in my career and continue to learn which i feel i haven't been doing at my current job.

Thanks Guys!