Shigefusa/Kato/Watanabe -- Why all the fuss?

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

naifu

Reaction score
I think we thoroughly vetted the fascination with Honyaki knives. I have a similar question for Shigs/Katos/Watanabes -- why are they so popular? Again, I am new to Japanese Chef Knives, so please forgive my ignorance, but it appears that these are popular because some really old guy who is still making knives the way his father taught him many years ago results in knives which are extremely desirable, collectable, and rare, such that they fly off the shelf at a very high price.

These are Japanese knives, made from carbon steel. Why pay $700 or more for such a knife and wait 6 to 18 months for one, when you can buy something comparable? If there is nothing comparable, why is that? Every other knife maker must desire infinite demand for their knives, and so why couldn't another knife crafter copy the design?

I have to imagine that there is a collectible value tied to the demand and cost of shigs/katos/watanabes/etc., just like say a very rare baseball card or stamp. These knives cannot be twice or three times as good as many other good carbon steel knives which are readily available for far less money, right?

I understand supply and demand, collectible value, etc. What I am asking, are these knives really so much better than other knives that cost less? I once visited a wine and liquor store in Las Vegas where they were selling old scotch whiskey for up to $40,000 USD. Someone is going to buy it, and I have to admit I am curious whether there is a 1000x difference between a 40k bottle of scotch and a 40 dollar bottle, but I am pretty sure there is only a small difference in actual taste and satisfaction.

One more question -- are shigs/katos/watanabes actually better in all cases, or do they sometimes fall short of their reputation?