STOCKS (high risk high return??)

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

amithrain

Reaction score
This is probably a terrible place to ask because a KKFer’s first instinct is to buy knives with every dollar earned, but here we go:
So I earned a couple hundred dollars that I don’t know how to spend. I’ve pretty much decided to invest it for the experience, because I’ve never done so before. Of course, the safest thing to do is s&p 500 index funds, etc etc, but that’s slow and I kind of want to have some fun. Does anyone know any high risk high return stocks to invest in? Alternatively, any advice/discussion on stocks and investing is very welcome.

I’d say the whole leisure travel sector may bounce back quickly. Business travel, not so much.

I have no specific expertise, I’m just trying to point you in a direction to start thinking.

what SPY aint slow it's like 7% per year.

listen if you think you can beat the index more power to you. I have an advanced degree in econ and work in ML and I took one look at the problem space and just bought SPY. not worth the effort.

plus once upon a time I used to play a couple of betting games (poker, mahjong, etc) and I got pretty into the math behind the betting specifically and my advice is that eventually greed will catch up to you. if you want to be successful in the long term you need to be patient and you need capital. that's it. there's no get rich quick scheme that's reliable enough to objectively pursue.

if you want to gamble in a high risk fashion you can do option trading and you can sit at your computer all day working them but personally I get paid a lot more to do a normal job and put the money in an index.