Tadatsuna questions

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JKerr

Reaction score
Haven't been around here in ages, but I'm finally in the market for some new pieces and need some advice.

So, I've also been intrigued by Tadatsuna. Don't really know why seeing as I've generally always leaned towards beefier knife, but I've been experiencing a bit of RSI recently and thought it'd be good to get a lighter gyuto to compliment my cleavers (Sugimoto OMS6/7). Good enough excuse to splash out anyway.

I've never used a proper laser before so here are my questions:
White 2 or INOX?
-I generally prefer carbon steel from a feeling point of view on the stones and in use, but is this as noticeable on such a thin knife? I also read from an archived post that stainless is generally preferable to carbon in a laser as edge retention is generally poorer on lasers. True?

Handles:
Does anyone have experience with Tad's western handles? Shape, size, F+F, are they pakkawood or something else etc. I'm happy with either, but usually prefer the aesthetics of western.

Also, although I'm particularly instrested in Tads, I'm open to other recommendations. I'm aware of the competition like Ashi, Yasuke, Konosuke, Suisin etc But if there's something else out there that is significantly better I'd love to hear about it.

Price wise I'm pretty open. Probably up to $500USD, but I'm more interested in finding a knife that intrigues me rather than something that's the "best" on paper.

Thanks in advance!

Josh

I don't have wrist issues, but in my experience lasers require more force particularly when cutting medium- dense items.