Whats the deal with micro chipping???????????????????

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Neyxous

Reaction score
I have read quite a few .... opinions on this. I am a total noob, that being said- Is this actually normal ??? Why do i read some saying its "expected" Does carbon steel do this (never really seen reference to it) or only the VGs and supersteels....
Is there any one cause? Is it far more complicated than a simple answer?

Neat.. now i have to go buy a micro scope to see for myself!!

I can't explain why it happens but I see it most:

1. On some factory edges straight OOTB.
2. On edges sharpened too acutely without a microbevel.
3. From torquing and poor technique.

It's only seems more common on steels like VG10/PM because manufacturers like Shun just crank them out as quickly and cheaply as possible through means I don't care about enough to look up. I love R2 as much as carbon and have yet to have an issue.

I believe (impossible to know really) many knives that get a reputation for being chippy ootb, have a overheated/burnt edge/tip during processing. Possibly due to/ in combination with too thin, but really with good heat treatment one can go really really thin without having issues, if keeping cool during grinding and finishing.

Ofc, other things are possible also, like lacking heat treatment processes.

I have read quite a few .... opinions on this. I am a total noob, that being said- Is this actually normal ??? Why do i read some saying its "expected" Does carbon steel do this (never really seen reference to it) or only the VGs and supersteels....
Is there any one cause? Is it far more complicated than a simple answer?
Normal? Well, it depends. Happens w carbon and stainless steels. Causes: high hardness steel that needs a delicate touch and/or a very acute edge that will chip if using too much power to cut food.