Which Knife Should I Buy?

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

natabega

Reaction score
Hi!,
Could you please give me some advice?

KNIFE TYPE
chef's knife and utility knife

Are you right or left handed? Left-handed

Are you interested in a Western handle (e.g., classic Wusthof handle) or Japanese handle? I'm open

What length of knife (blade) are you interested in (in inches or millimeters)? 6-8 inches, preferably 6 it's difficult for me to handle a large knife, but if anybody thinks this size is inappropriate based on other answers please fill me in.

Do you require a stainless knife? Yes

What is your absolute maximum budget for your knife? 200 USD

KNIFE USE
Do you primarily intend to use this knife at home or a professional environment? Home, but I'm a culinary student

What are the main tasks you primarily intend to use the knife? slicing vegetables, chopping vegetables, mincing vegetables, slicing meats, filleting fish, trimming meats

What knife, if any, are you replacing?

Do you have a particular grip that you primarily use? Pinch grip

What cutting motions do you primarily use? Rocking, walking, chopping

What improvements do you want from your current knife?

Better aesthetics (e.g., a certain type of finish; layered/Damascus or other pattern of steel; different handle color/pattern/shape/wood; better scratch resistance; better stain resistance)? No

Comfort (e.g., lighter/heavier knife; better handle material; better handle shape; rounded spine/choil of the knife; improved balance)? lighter knife, better handle material but not the most important, improved balance

Ease of Use (e.g., ability to use the knife right out of the box; smoother rock chopping, push cutting, or slicing motion; less wedging; better food release; less reactivity with food; easier to sharpen)? I wish it be easier to sharpen