Which Knives should I buy?

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ekko

Reaction score
Hi folks. I've been aching to replace our old block set for a couple of years, and am finally ready to start the process of doing that. I plan to get a magnet strip and wanted to minimalize the number of knives we use in the kitchen, so I've narrowed down my "needs" to just 4 (though I might want to get a boning knife or a cleaver at some point in the future.)

Was hoping to get some recommendations on quality steel. The closer to BIFL, the better!

My max prices are max prices, but if I can get out of this without spending more than 10000 SEK my wife would appreciate it.

KNIFE TYPE
What type of knife are you interested in?
  • Chef's Knife
  • Veggie Cleaver/Bocho
  • Utility Knife
  • and a Bread Knife
Are you right or left handed?
  • Right
Are you interested in a Western handle or Japanese handle?
  • No preference
What length of knife (blade) are you interested in?
  • ~210mm, give or take
  • ~175mm
  • ~130mm
  • ~200mm
Do you require a stainless knife? (Yes or no)
  • No (but my wife says yes, since we share in the cooking and the responsibility of carbon scares her)
What is your absolute maximum budget for your knife?
  • Chef's Knife: 4000 SEK
  • Bocho: 3000 SEK
  • Utility: 3000 SEK
  • Bread: 2000 SEK

KNIFE USE
Do you primarily intend to use this knife at home or a professional environment?
  • Home
What are the main tasks you primarily intend to use the knife for?
  • Cutting/Slicing/Trimming meat, chopping nuts, dicing veggies
  • Prepping veggies (cutting/chopping/slicing)
  • Cutting sandwiches and slicing buns, slicing herbs
  • BREAD
What knife, if any, are you replacing?
  • Standard off-the-shelf kitchen knife block
Do you have a particular grip that you primarily use?
  • Pinch or Finger Point
What cutting motions do you primarily use?