Yoshikane white sharpening advice

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

muru

Reaction score
Hi All,

I recently picked up a yoshikane white #2 gyuto and I'm relatively new to sharpening.

I picked up a king kds 1000/6000 and need some advice on sharpening the yoshikane and also some general questions.

1. The yoshikane looks to be a wide beveled knife, so does that mean I should be thinning every time? Hard for me to even tell if it is a wide bevel or if it's just a faux one.

2. If so, I guess that means I have to move the shinogi up everytime which seems to start at the hammered finish. I guess I'm afraid I would have to ruin that if I have to thin at each sharpening. Not even sure how one goes about moving the shinogi into the hammered finish part of the knife.

3. If I have to thin each time does it make sense to use the same grits as I do on the edge so that I'm removing the same amount of metal from secondary bevel as primary edge? How does one gauge how much needs to be thinned each time? Is the 1000 plenty to thin with if I'm doing it at each sharpening?

4. Stropping, I've just been using a cardboard cut from an amazon box after using cork and trailing strokes on the stones to deburr. Is that right?

5. I havent really put the yoshikane on the 1000 stone yet, in theory if I'm sharpening often could one just use the 6000 to keep the edge sharp if done often enough?

6. I've used the 1000 on some shun vg10 and a cheap 420 knife (shun worked out better but itd likely because it was in much better condition to begin with), looking for some beater carbons to practice on, maybe a k-sabatier. Anybody know a good place to find cheap beaters to practice on or have recs on cheap beaters that could also be used as a beater... going to probably pick up opinel pairing.