Anyone have a puerh knife?

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Marshmallo

Reaction score
I drink a lot of puerh and am curious if any members have recommendations for knives to break up the cakes. I've thought about making my own out of d2 or repurposing an oyster knife. New handle and a tip or something. I haven't come across any for sale that peaked my interest yet.

I drink a lot of puerh and am curious if any members have recommendations for knives to break up the cakes. I've thought about making my own out of d2 or repurposing an oyster knife. New handle and a tip or something. I haven't come across any for sale that peaked my interest yet.

I am no expert in this subject, but my limited knowledge of pu-ar tea is that the cake is broken up. Not cut. That the leaves are left as they are. If this is correct, I do not really see the purpose of a "knife" in this case.
Since you would have to penetrate the cake then break it up I can envision something like a screwdriver with a sharpened point only with the small flattened head assisting in gthe break up.
Please feel free to educate me on this subject. Are there knives made for this purpose historically?

You're correct, you don't cut it up you basically pry it apart. The "knives" are more akin to oyster shuckers or tiny letter openers. And there are puerh pics and knives specifically for breaking the cake apart. Needs to be strong flat and pointed. Some of the cakes break apart easily and some are like concrete!

This is mine.
Puerh knife SMALL.JPG

I don't use it much, though, except on the centers of dense cakes. Mostly what I do is go around the edge of the cake, bending at each point, around and around, until something gives. Then I break that off and repeat. When I get to the hard core, if there is one, then, yes, I break out the pu erh knife.