Nakiri vs Usuba for my use

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Fantality

Reaction score
Hello,

I'm a sushi chef and one of the vegetables I chop all the time is the cucumber.

I shave the cucumbers into thin layers using the katsuramuki method and then I chop them up thinly to be used in rolls. Right now, I'm simply using my gyuto-suji hybrid knife, which I use for pretty much everything. However, I'm thinking of picking up a vegetable knife for the sake of efficiency. I dislike how cucumber sticks to my gyuto-suji knife and the end result isn't as neat.

I've never had a Nakiri or Usuba. I know the difference between the two is that Nakiri is double beveled while Usuba is single beveled. My understading is that Usuba is also a lot more expensive and more difficult to care for.

I just want a knife that glides through vegetables without the remnants sticking to the knife. Would either Nakiri or Usuba be capable of fulfilling this task?

The head chef at the previous restaurant I worked at had an ordinary chef knife that was sharpened in a way that it had a reflective finish on both sides. That knife glided through vegetables as if it had been oiled... not a single cucumber stuck to it when cutting katsuramuki layers into hundreds of thin cucumber-sticks.

I don't know how to sharpen my knives to have that result, so I'm thinking of just buying a vegetable knife.

Any advice are appreciated.

IME, the wide bevel gyuto is the best for this task(cutting tall piles of cucumbers), the cucumbers just fell off smoothly as soon as they reach the shinogi line. There are many brands liked kagekiyo/Togashi/Hado etc
66410C5D-DE44-4337-BBFC-212DB5F0E13B.png
4D30F6A6-376E-4BFB-B997-67E769826B9F.png
6B479ECC-FEA9-4C79-8959-4DEC4B2AFFCA.png

Last edited: