r/chefknives NEEDS to return

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
So I think the vast majority of us KKF members didn’t frequent r/chefknives too often, but occasionally visited to set a potential Yaxell or Dalstrong buyer on the right path or see someone’s crazy upvoted collection of 2 Masakage gyutos, a Y Kato and 2 Kurosaki gyutos and laugh to yourself that their entire collection is the same 5 overground knives with just slightly different patterns slapped on… but I feel r/chefknives is CRUCIAL to our community.

I started my serious collection years ago, but as a chef I owned a loved knives for about 16 years. My Shun Classic that I got myself at my first head chef job was a huge step, but I was years away from knowing what carbon steel was.

I got all of my foundation of my knowledge from Reddit and probably based my knife purchases for about 18 months before I found out what KKF was. If I didn’t have that Reddit base of knowledge I reckon it wouldve been too intimidating to really join in.

I sent so many people here from r/chefknives, and I myself came from Reddit too. I’d say that over half of the big collectors move on to other hobbies but are replaced with new collectors piped in from Reddit. Without it this community will slowly begin to plateau its growth to then being in decline.

If you’re saying to yourself “why should I care? It’s going to mean less people trying to add that Shig I missed into their cart at the same time!” Well first off the less demand for these knives will absolutely plummet the value of your current collection, but it also will effect the satisfaction you get from your collection.