Stone for light maintenance thinning

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

spaceconvoy

Reaction score
Been reading through the archives and seems like most coarse stone threads have a mix of opinions from people with very different goals in mind. I'm a home cook, not a pro sharpener or a pro cook using knives 40 hours a week. And I don't have any chunky knives that need reprofiling, at least at the moment.

So I'd like to specifically ask which coarse stone would you recommend for light maintenance thinning on knives that already have a thin grind? I'm not worried about chips, and would rather let them sharpen out naturally than remove a bunch of metal all at once. Could I get away with using a GS500 if I do a bit of thinning during each session, or would the knife eventually need serious reprofiling?

Side question - I have an atoma 400 for stone flattening, and would prefer not to buy a 140 too. Can you flatten a sub-400 grit stone with an atoma 400, or would it get ruined? I wouldn't be so hesitant to buy an extra-coarse stone if I could use the same flattening plate.

You could probably get away with using the sg500. I love mine. But I’ve really been enjoying the Gesshin 320 splash and go. It’s on the muddier side so it’s pretty forgiving. Does a really good job at removing scratch patterns from lower grit stones. It does dish but nothing crazy and it doesn’t get clogged up and lose cutting speed like some others. I don’t have huge experience with all the low grits but it strikes a nice balance between cutting speed and dishing speed and I do believe you could get away flattening it with a atoma 400 but strongly suggest a lower grit.

A 3$/3€ SiC "sharpening stone" from HW store or from Chinese store. Thirsty but not all support to long immersion in water.