Thinking of buying a gyuto 240mm...

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JeffCT

Reaction score
Any recommendations?

• US
KNIFE TYPE
What type of knife are you interested in (e.g., chefs knife, slicer, boning knife, utility knife, bread knife, paring knife, cleaver)?
  • Gyuto 240mm, as a change of pace to my Wusthof Classic 8" chef knife (given years with a European blade shape, I may be more comfortable with greater curved blade)
Are you right or left handed?
  • Left, strongly prefer symmetrical edge (as I'm still learning how to sharpen on stones)
Are you interested in a Western handle (e.g., classic Wusthof handle) or Japanese handle?
  • Either, but have never used a Japanese handle
What length of knife (blade) are you interested in (in inches or millimeters)?
  • 240mm, partly to be a little different than my 8" chef knife
Do you require a stainless knife? (Yes or no)
  • No, but favor something with lower maintenance (and better edge retention with acidic food, etc.), unless strong recommendation otherwise
What is your absolute maximum budget for your knife?
  • Thinking $200-ish
KNIFE USE
Do you primarily intend to use this knife at home or a professional environment?
  • Home
What are the main tasks you primarily intend to use the knife for (e.g., slicing vegetables, chopping vegetables, mincing vegetables, slicing meats, cutting down poultry, breaking poultry bones, filleting fish, trimming meats, etc.)? (Please identify as many tasks as you would like.)
  • All, but may not use this one on breaking poultry bones/spatchcocking, etc.
What knife, if any, are you replacing?
  • Not replacing, but expect to use in rotation with my Wusthof Classic chef knife, and to a lessor extent my MAC Mighty sanduko
Do you have a particular grip that you primarily use? (Please click on this LINK for the common types of grips.)
  • Pinch grip