Am I using my laser incorrectly?

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi. Although I have a number of jknives, I'm really moving from a freshman status to a sophomore when it comes to knife knowledge. I recently purchased a 230mm 52100 mono steel gyuto which is really fun to use - definitely a laser and a great cutter. However, it has developed a number of microchips over the last 3 months. I'm just a home cook and use a poly cutting board. I don't think I'm especially hard on my knives, and my other carbon steel knives (Ikeda B2, Wakui W2, Kamo AS) don't seem to have the same issue. My technique is certainly amateurish but mostly push cut or chop. Most of what I am cutting with this 52100 knife are vegetables (carrots, onions, broccoli, etc., nothing too hard). I just rotate my knife use based on fun rather than what each knife might be best at cutting. I'm wondering if perhaps I'm choosing the wrong knife for the job and that is why my knife is chipping, or is it the board or just crappy technique? I realize this may be a difficult question to answer without seeing the knife in action (used by me) but I was just surprised when these microchips appeared. Any advice would be appreciated.

Last edited:
Have you sharpened it yet? Without knowing more that's generally the culprit as "factory" edges are usually belt ground and it stresses the steel more than whetstones, particularly if it is a zero grind. Often times a sharpening or two will remediate any microchipping issues on a knife.

Edit: @yummycrackers beat me to it

How big are the chips? Some of them might just be fatigue steel, a good sharpening can get them right. Tho 52100 might suffer temper embrittlement if tempered too high