What do I have (King Stones) vs what else is out there (synthetic)?

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sugi_84

Reaction score
Hi All,

Relatively new here, but I did try to look around to see if it was discussed anywhere. Generally, I think I'm pretty okay at sharpening but every once and again I'll come up against a knife that won't get as sharp as I'm expecting which makes me think I'm a noob and after joining and reading a bunch of posts on here, all doubt has been removed.

I bought this King stone from Woodcraft over a decade ago and don't remember much about it. I think the grit(s) is 1k/6k but I'm not super sure and am basing it off color. Is anyone able to confirm the details about the stone? Grit? The only thing definite about it is that its a King. I'm almost certain its a very cheap stone as when I bought it, I didn't have much money. I don't see much talk about King stones on here so I'm wondering how it stacks up against the popular synthetic stones that are discussed frequently here. Will other brands make that big a difference? In terms of quality is it bottom of the barrel? Most of what I see on here is user preference or try it and find out so I'm not able to make a qualitative assessment...is there a general consensus as to how it stacks up?
20240130_213327.jpg

20240130_213256.jpg

That is most certainly a king 1k/6k. The 1k is a perfectly useful stone. You could certainly upgrade if you want to, but it will get the job done as long as the edges are too terribly dull. The 6k side isn’t that great. 1k side definitely needs to be soaked. The 6k side can work a bit better when used splash and go.

Fwiw - King 800 x 6k looks exactly the same too, so could also be that.

332BFD40-EFF9-40AC-A84C-7FD8BB62374C.jpeg

The 1k x 6k is a lot more common though.