Easily Annoyed When Cooking

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

OldSaw

Reaction score
I am easily annoyed by other people when I’m cooking. My son thinks it’s related to PTSD. I’m not a professional, just an enthusiastic home cook.

Typical scenario is I’m in the zone and I’m going back and forth from the cooktop to the prep area behind me, really enjoying myself. Then, for no apparent reason, someone tries to walk through my area instead of going around or they misplaced something that I need. I get really flustered and tell them in no uncertain terms to either get out of the way or chastise them for hiding whatever it was that I needed.

Is this something others experience? Just wondering if it’s just me.

Yes, I do. I hate myself when I get in those moods, especially when I’m cooking at other people’s houses. Lately I am also coming to terms with and working on my “need” for control and having things done a certain way. I think the two are definitely related for me, maybe that doesn’t help you though. What I find helps is whenever I find myself starting to get to that point, I stop, take a deep breath, and imagine this as a new challenge to work around and overcome instead of an obstacle that could result in a ruined meal (which is irrational most of the time anyway)

why kitchen.jpg

I am easily annoyed by other people when I’m cooking. My son thinks it’s related to PTSD. I’m not a professional, just an enthusiastic home cook.

Typical scenario is I’m in the zone and I’m going back and forth from the cooktop to the prep area behind me, really enjoying myself. Then, for no apparent reason, someone tries to walk through my area instead of going around or they misplaced something that I need. I get really flustered and tell them in no uncertain terms to either get out of the way or chastise them for hiding whatever it was that I needed.