Gas vs induction - opinions

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

evilgawd

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

Background: I'm not a professional chef but did take cooking training years ago and really enjoy it
My current setup is a smoothtop electric, bought it 8-10 years ago, a high-end LG model back then.
House setup: Electric only, outside propane tank is an option

Logically speaking, going induction is the right move :
Setup already in place
Greener as its using electricity ( Hydro over here) + cheaper as electricity is cheap here
Is hotspot still an issue ??

Gas :
Enjoyable to cook with
Available during power outage
Hassle to connect + potentially more "dangerous" with gas leak or burns

Not with that being said, I'm still debating if I should spend money and get myself a dual fuel gas range and get hooked up with an outside tank. There is obviously a higher cost as I don't have the setup but cooking on fire is pretty sexy. Yes maybe I'm a bit of a pyro but there's something really enjoyable when you cook with gas.

I didn't do it 10 years ago because the wife ( now ex-wife) was scared of gas. I recently bought myself a portable butane stove with a wok and it awoke that dream of cooking with gas again ;)

Now, I have been reading forums all over the net and while there are still a few folks saying gas is the best, I see lots of folks who converted and wouldn't go back to gas.

That being said, let's say the propane tank is outside and there is no extra cost. Gas VS Induction, who wins from a cooking perspective ?? My heart is saying gas but my brain tells me induction is the way to go arrrrrrghhhh!!!

Thanks

Last edited:
I suggest you ping @ModRQC as he has some real expertise in these matters