Shirogami (White) No.1 & No.2 Questions...

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bradmacmt

Reaction score
I've had exactly one White no.2 knife. I didn't really have it long enough to form any definite opinion about it, though my example worked well on everything I used it on. My experience has mainly been with Blue Super, Blue no.2, VG10, SKD, and a variety of other stainless's. I've seen that Murray Carter thinks it's "the" knife steel (can't remember which White he prefers - maybe no.1?), and I've seen another poster here who doesn't think it's made for, or ideal for any knife blade.

What's your take on these two steels, and which do you prefer? All things being equal, how do you like it in relation to Blue no.2? Obviously a lot of it comes down to how the smith treats and tempers it I assume.

Thanks for your input - I'm still learning.

For the "Americans," Happy Thanksgiving :)

It's a simple, low alloy steel. How it behaves is heavily dependent on the heat treatment, so knowing the smith who crafted it is important. Certainly more important than the difference between whites 1, 2 and 3.

It is easy to make very sharp but not really that different to blue steels.

It has less edge retention than blue steels.

It is very sensitive to edge degradation by acidic foods, so rinse these off Immediately.

It's a good steel to see how a smith's heat treatment affects the behaviour of the steel. I guess this is why Mr Carter is so fond of it?

Interesting. So it doesn’t hold as durable an edge, and is more affected by acids. Doesn’t sound all that great to me. A friend has a $1200 Carter knife. I’ve used it, and while I liked the Damascus cladding (which is just eye candy), I couldn’t see what all the hype was about.

It is easy to make very sharp but not really that different to blue steels.

It has less edge retention than blue steels.