Thin this one?

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hello y'all....new member and a long-time reader. Just picked this one from JCK. It's one the Fu-Rin-Ka-Zan gyutos and is a "workhorse" build with ~4.8mm thickness at heel, ~3.2mm thickness at mid-blade, and weighs 230g. I'm thinking about thinning it. Although it is very sharp ottb, it had a hard time pushing through a cabbage and a few tall carrots likely because of the shoulders.

PXL_20210919_034608309~2.jpg

Thoughts? I'm a newbie with thinning and am an ok sharpener. Might take it to a local guy to do it. For the same cabbage and carrots, my Watanabe nakiri and Yoshikane made it look easy.

PXL_20210918_164805990~2.jpg

Last edited:
Since you already have the Yoshi and Wat, I think you probably don’t “need” to thin the FRKZ? You can just use the Wat and Yoshi for cabbage and carrots and use FRKZ when you need heft, stiffness, and food release. Once steel is removed it’s not coming back.

Good thinking. I thought maybe just to thin or "round" the shoulders a bit. I do want to keep it as my workhorse and not thin it too much.

It looks about as thin bte as it’ll go following that grind. I think it’s just the nature of it, thick and heavy. Taking off the shoulders may help but if you’ve got other options I might leave this one, unless you’re truly dissatisfied with.

Rather pull cuts: initiation where it's thick and follow-up where it tapers. That and additional momentum will be needed.

Pretty difficult to pull cut on dense veg imo, especially with a wedgy knife. Hard to have any leverage. I assume @zizirex's point was to add some horizontal push instead of trying to go straight down, which does make a difference.